RSS Feed

Finding Gratitude

“Gratitude is the sign of noble souls” ~ Aesop.

butterfly-1393493

Gratitude has been on my mind lately. Two of the simplest words, thank you, can bring the greatest peace to a soul.

A Grateful Heart

It’s interesting. It’s a lot harder to have gratitude when things are going easy in my life. I have so many things to be grateful for, and yet how often do I take the time to say “thank you?” When I should be praising God, I get caught up in all my daily affairs and forget about what’s important.

Here’s a question for you: How often do you show gratitude towards yourself? How often do you stop and say “thank you for doing such a good job today?” I don’t think I ever have now that I think about it. Sure, I’ve been proud of my accomplishments. I’ve given praise, but I don’t think I’ve ever said thank you. I wonder if that would change my attitude?

Appreciating the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

I discovered something about myself the other day. I don’t like hard things. In fact, I hate them! Hard things make me so angry and frustrated and ungrateful. Yet, how would my life change if I felt gratitude for the hard things in my life?

Some of the most difficult things I’ve ever experienced have been my greatest teachers. And yet, I still harbor some negative feelings for those hardships. For example: I participated in a swim team my sophomore year in high school.

It HURT.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yet, it taught me to work hard and push through pain. It taught me that I can accomplish something great. Even though I got a C in my Chemistry class because of swim team (well, Chem has never been my best subject…) I survived the semester. And that’s something to be grateful for.

I wonder how my life would change if I changed my attitude towards challenges. I don’t know, but I’m curious to find out.

The Gratitude Challenge

I have a challenge for you. I want you to stop what you’re doing right now and find three things that you’re grateful for. I’m serious, stop. Think for a minute. It doesn’t have to be anything extravagant.

I picked: My laptop, my blanket, and my pillow 🙂 What did you pick?

What would happen if each day we stopped for a minute and just thought about three things that we’re grateful for? Perhaps instead of getting trapped staring at the path in front of us, we’ll begin to see the sky.

sunset-1553654

Do you think that would change the world? I think it’s possible.

Here’s a quote from one of my favorite Shakespearean villains, Iago, for my last thoughts: “Poor and content is rich, and rich enough; / but riches fineless (infinite) is as poor as winter / To him that ever fears he shall be poor” (3.3.172-174).

When we learn to be content with what we have, we begin to see all the rich blessings around us. I hope that both of us can find more gratitude in our hearts and that we can find a way to change the world.

Have a blessed day 🙂

About Juliet Elizabeth Petersen

I'm a writer who loves to inspire others to recognize their worth and become who they've always wanted to be.

Leave a Reply

