RSS Feed

Finding the Motivation

So, I don’t know if this ever happens to you, but sometimes I feel like my motivation is a fickle creature. Sometimes it will rage inside my chest and beat its drum with all the power of an elephant. Other times it changes into a mouse and disappears into a dark corner. No matter how I try to coax, it won’t budge.

All my desire to finish a project I’ve started vanishes and it feels impossible to move forward.the-cat-toy-1515154

 

While creating a website in my class, I found a page where we can post our URL so that our classmates can check and critique them. Well, I decided to investigate some of my classmate’s work.

I was blown away by what everyone had done and when I looked back at my own website, I sighed. So much work to do… I felt so behind. And my motivation shriveled and scurried away.

What do you do when your motivation dies?

Well… after working on this post, here are some of the ideas I’ve come up with.

Looking at pictures:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Looking at peaceful pictures helps me to calm down and relax. I love reading motivational quotes that get me pumped to try something new or keeping moving forward on my projects.

Listening to Good Music:

music-1516123

Music inspires me. “Where words fail, music speaks” Hans Christian Anderson. I couldn’t agree more šŸ™‚

Looking at something silly:

more-phone-girl-4-1465204

And then I realize that everything will work out. I can laugh off my frustrations and continue moving forward.

My website may not be as good as the others, but that’s okay. I’m doing the best that I can and that’s all that matters!

I think that this quote can fit my situation well šŸ™‚

“A creative man is motivated by the desire to achieve, not by the desire to beat others” Ayn Rand.

If all that motivates me circles around beating others, than what’s the point? There’s always going to be someone who’s better than I am and worse than I am. I can’t compare myself like that. I wanted to build my website in order to work at home. If I stop now, that dream will die! I can’t give up now! I’ve only just begun.

I think so long as I’m doing my best, the rest will come in time. My website may not look as modern and up to date as others, but that will come in time. The one thing that I need to focus on right now is building content. That’s all that matters.

Anyways, thanks for letting me ramble. I hope that this post might help motivate you to go out and accomplish something great! Good luck to you on all of your dreams and endeavors! You can do it!

hands-2-ok-hand-1241594

Thanks for stopping by!

About Juliet Elizabeth Petersen

I'm a writer who loves to inspire others to recognize their worth and become who they've always wanted to be.

Leave a Reply

